Analytic Vision

My Annotation to the Faculty Programme

Posted by Ştefan Alexandrescu on 04/09/2009

This morning I did something I have postponed for a while, constrained by a very practical reson: I moved and I don’t have enough room for all the books.

Altough I am still a student (at the master’s degree), I have already finished a long-term faculty (communication and public relations). And I have kept my manuals from the faculty period. Very likely, I think many of my colleagues have thrown away almost all of their manuals.

So I procedeed to a careful selection… using a kitchen knife. As you can see, before trashing a third of the content of the books, I have made a picture to capture the moment.

"Cu ce am ramas din facultate"

“Cu ce am ramas din facultate”

Now…you may notice that the pill from the left (the one I kept) is bigger then the pile from the right (the one I threw away). You may wonder how I made this decisions. First of all, I would like to emphasize on the concept of “not guilty until proven otherwise”, about which I was talking yesterday at Open Coffee to Viorel Spînu, Mihai Mafteianu and Val Vlădescu.

So… what I asked myself going through the books, was: “was this ever helpful for me, as a practical utility, what is here?” and “Can this be helpful in the future?”. If the answer to any of these questions was “Yes”, then I kept it.Then I noticed what I threw away. I threw away the theoretical, abstract, complicated nonsense that I considered totally useless, although it may have a strategic appearance.

I noticed that the materials I threw away were usually written by the same people, who couldn’t find a different way of writing, a different style. As a college professor, the real verification of the quality of your writings is done after the college, if the students keep the classes or if they throw them away. So this is the moment when the true value of a teacher is measured. If you teach in college, I dare you to ask your former students, how many have they kept your printed classes?

[later edit] Some of my faculty teachers commented on depicting a knife on this post. But, to quote Shakespeare: “I only intend to write about daggers, not to use them [on people]” :)

If you liked this post, you may also enjoy:

Vision. Inspire. Think globally.

2 Responses to “My Annotation to the Faculty Programme”

  1. Dianne said

    Interesting approach :) I have kept almost 50% of my college materials…but some of them are only for my ego, I couldn`t find yet a practical value for them.

    Like

  2. […] concepute într-un limbaj de lemn, abstract şi complet impractic. Ele au rămas pe dinafară la adnotarea pe care am făcut-o la programa facultăţii cu cuţitul de […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
