Analytic Vision

Impressions from the GalerIAA Opening

Posted by Ştefan Alexandrescu on 17/06/2009

I just came from the GalerIAA Opening. Lots of impressions.

First of all, I consider the initiative of  IAA just great. I think there was a need for such exhibitions and they fill out a gap. The walls and the lockers were filled with paintings and drawings. Although it was an event mainly addressed to the people in marcom that have hobbies they would like to share, almost anyone could join…

Still, considering what they intended the event to gather , I notice there were mainly paintings and drawings, and some prints and comics. And the most fascinating thing: a collection of thimbles.  No origami. No sculptures. No plastilin. No other kind of creations. I am wondering if it’s because they didn’t communicate it enough the event or because people don’t really have these kinds of passions.

How to make the magic disappear

I opened the locker in front of a friend of mine, one of those which were used to post drawings (some of them, of Alexandra Dinu’s – an old acquaintaince I was glad to meet again – I never knew she was so sensible). He was amazed: “Wow! That’s actually a locker!”.

I was talking to a young artist,  when a guy went by with a can of beer and while he tried to pass behind me he brought down one of her paintings. With this opportunity I noticed the drawings were just held in pins. It’s rather interesting that paintings evaluated on over 300 euros are only held there … in pins (!). It will be interesting to visit the gallery after about a month.

How to look snobbish – in case you try to find a solution

The truth is I don’t know much about art. I’d like to know more, but unfortunately, I’ve never been so interested in something like taking a class on that.

And there were 3 kind of combined reasons for which I was there tonight .

The first was I knew I wanted to talk to Bogdan Naumovici about a script for a short film at which I’m going to be 1st assistent director. It’s something small, doesn’t take much, it’s not a professional short, it’s something that a colleague of mine is making for her admission at Vienna Film School. I sent him the e-mail and I’m waiting for his feed-back in the following days. I talked to him at the event, but I didn’t hear him talk in the beginning, I came when the band started singing. [later edit: I worked at the project and it turned out awesome]

The second reason was that I wanted to know more about IAA Young Professionals and how to join. With this opportunity, I found out that Alexandra Dumitru (Which I knew from sight, but did not recognize at the beginning, altough we met at Bruno Medicina‘s firewalking in 2008 and at  the launch of tineriantreprenori.ro in 2008) was the person to send an e-mail (alexandra[punct]dumitru[at]iaa.ro) with the CV for the admission in July.

Elena Ioniţă told me about a month ago to look for Nicoleta Deliu or Mihnea Miculescu for joining IAA YP, but I misplaced the paper I wrote that information on and found it just a few days ago.

Now an interesting thing I found was that on the main page of IAA, it says that IAA YP gathers professionals in marcom under 25. Here, on the other hand, in this press release signed Alexadra Dumitru (phone number 0729 003 956), it says that IAA YP gathers professionals under 26. Considering that the Romanian IAA branch has been awarded internationally for being the most active from the whole world, I am sure there will be a correction made somewhere… [later edit: a bunch of months later i decided to de-affiliate from all the NGOs I was in]

The third reason I came was that one of my potential clients and a friend of mine said he’ll come and I booked a place for him too but he couldn’t arrive. He said he found out about the initiative and wanted to check out the place and was kind of enthusiastic about it… but I guess he’ll have time to do so.

In the principle “My mouth is going to start to talk in less than 30 seconds, so it would better say something useful…”, I kind of stumbled tonight. I found myself trying to say things and finding out I don’t have anything to say at all… good luck with the following exhibitions (and maybe I’ll participate in the photo exhibition in the fall). It’s kind of embarrassing trying to say something in a certain set if you don’t really have anything to say. There is a golden principle: “He who talks, seeds. He who listens, gathers.”.

Other ideas which crossed through my mind:

The band made some atmosphere.

Nice event, over all.

Great space for exhibition (between 9-18, until the 16th of July, at Calea Victoriei 126, at the 3rd floor of the building with the entrance through the ACT Theatre). I wait for the next one.

As a delightful suprise, I had the opportunity to talk again with Ramona Pătrăşcanu and Phoebs.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Impressions from the GalerIAA Opening”

  1. […] required a lot of responsability, and I kinda postponed it, year after year. My first blog post was Impressions from the GalerIAA Opening [en, blog], the coverage of a cultural event organized by the International Advertising Association […]

    Like

  2. […] this, after 3 years from one little post. “Any big journey starts with one step”. And I did mine with a little impulse from […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
